Himalayan Component

Himalayan Component (As on 31.01.2021)

NWDA has completed the pre-feasibility studies of fourteen links in the Himalayan Component.They are namely:

  • Manas-Sankosh-Tista - Ganga Link Project
  • Jogighopa-Tista-Farakka Link Project
  • Ganga-Damodar-Subernarekha Link Project
  • Subernarekha-Mahanadi Link Project
  • Farakka-Sunderbans Link Project
  • Gandak-Ganga Link Project
  • Ghaghara -Yamuna Link Project
  • Sarda-Yamuna Link Project
  • Yamuna-Rajasthan Link Project
  • Rajasthan-Sabarmati Link Project
  • Chunar- Sone Barrage Link Project
  • Sone dam-Southern tributaries of Ganga Link Project
  • Kosi- Ghaghara Link Project
  • Kosi-Mechi Link Project

Out of the above 14 links, NWDA has completed feasibility studies of 4 links i.e.

  • Sarda-Yamuna Link (Indian portion),
  • Ghaghara-Yamuna Link (Indian portion),
  • Manas-Sankosh-Tista-Ganga (MSTG) Link
  • Farakka-Sunderban (FS) Link.

The FRs of MSTG link and FS link are circulated during the year 2020-21, but FRs of Sarda-Yamuna Link and Ghaghara-Yamuna Link have not been circulated yet as the work in Nepal area is not completed. The Feasibility Report of Sarda-Yamuna link is under modification based on DPR of Pancheshwar dam in Nepal. 

Besides above, survey & investigation (S & I) works and preparation of draft FR, pertaining to the 6 links namely :   

  1. Yamuna - Rajasthan link
  2.  Rajasthan - Sabarmati link
  3.  Subernarekha - Mahanadi link
  4.  Ganga - Damodar - Subernarekha link
  5.  Chunar -Sone barrage link
  6.  Gandak - Ganga link (Indian portion) have been completed.

S & I works for preparation of FR of Sone Dam-Southern Tributaries of Ganga (STG) link using Remote Sensing maps have been completed. S&I work for preparation of FR of Kosi-Ghaghara link project has also been completed.

The Kosi-Mechi link which entirely lies in Nepal territory and the Jogighopa-Tista-Farakka link which is an alternate of MSTG link, are presently not targeted for preparation of FR. However, the PFR of Forest free alignment of Jogighopa-Tista-Farakka link has been completed and circulated to the members of TAC of NWDA and concerned State Govts. of Bihar, Assam and West Bengal on 13.06.2011.

For Map of Himalayan Component PDF File[291.86 KB]